United States-ASEAN Initiative
  Background and Negotiations
    On 26 October 2002 the United States announced the creation of the Enterprise for ASEAN initiative,  which offers the prospect for bilateral free trade agreements with ASEAN members that are WTO members and have a bilateral TIFA with the United States. The ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) countries include Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

On 25 August 2006, in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, the United States and the ASEAN countries signed a regional Trade and Investment Framework Agreement (TIFA). 

Documents relating to the negotiations
25 August 2006 USTR signs TIFA with ASEAN countriesPDFnew!
  Text of the U.S.-ASEAN TIFAPDF
26 October 2002 White House Announcement on ASEAN InitiativePDF
26 October 2002 Fact Sheet:  Enterprise for ASEAN InitiativePDF
Source: Office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR); Official White House website


Spanish version 
Recent Developments
  25 August 2006. The U.S. signs TIFA with ASEAN countries new!